Sooo…Apparently I Haven’t Posted…

12 Jul

In, like, FOREVER.  FFFOOORRR-EEEVVVVV-EEEERRRRRR (props to whomever can name the movie).

I have no account of anguish.  No sad saga of salty tears shed.  Not even a concerning chronicle of cat-fights.  (Hooray for alliteration!!)

Things have been…phenomenal.  Well, with Loverboy, at least.

Sure we have had little spats.  Who doesn’t?  But the important thing is we have been able to work through them without misunderstandings, miscommunications, and misfires.

Our only slight snag?

His daughter.

It seems she has been taking some anger and frustration she has with her father, and moving it toward me.  She makes very thinly veiled remarks when I am within ear shot.  She brings me up whenever they argue.  L has told her that what he and I do together is none of her concern, but it keeps happening.

I am at the point that when she is home (which is rare), I leave.  If I have my kids, we all leave.  I have gotten increasingly uncomfortable being in her presence.  I mentioned it to L, and he is aware of the situation, but he is at a loss at what to do.  He is still holding out hope that she will move out soon, that she will finally grow up and get a life, that etc. etc. etc.

It’s not going to happen.

This is a woman in her early twenties that is completely content at her part-time minimum-wage job because it covers her cigarettes, booze, and weed.  AND THAT’S IT.  I have never met someone who has literally no ambition.

NONE.

Big.  Fat.  Zero.

I have told him that I will never move in with him as long as she is living in his basement.  I refuse to battle daily with someone who has no respect for me, or for her dad.

I’m not sure where we go from here…

Love, Esme

4 Responses to “Sooo…Apparently I Haven’t Posted…”

  1. thoughtsappear July 16, 2012 at 10:37 am #

    Is the movie The Sandlot?

    I hope things with his daughter get better!

    • Esme July 16, 2012 at 12:08 pm #

      Sandlot! Yay!!

      I’m not sure that will get better. I think it’s going to come down to if I can deal with it or not.

  2. j July 17, 2012 at 8:22 pm #

    Sounds like she is threatened by you…hope it works itself out.

  3. Jessica Grace August 25, 2012 at 6:35 pm #

    Sandlot!!!

Speak your peace

