Umm…hmm…part deux.

5 May

Here is how this whole thing finished.

At midnight, I received a text from Loverboy asking if I was still up. I didnt answer. He asked if I was drunk, I didn’t answer. Ten minutes later he was at my door.

When I let him in, he immediately apologized. He said he didn’t remember we had plans, and he is sorry. He also said that his brother will watch his kids so we can go do something for my birthday. He apologized for being ‘short’ with me (hello, he was on his man-period). I listened to him talk, then I fell over the couch. He ran over and helped me off the floor, and then I proceeded to run into the wall. After that, he gathered up some clothes for me, and took me to his place where he could watch me. Did I mention I don’t drink that much??

Once we got to his house, I started playing Call of Duty. He kept saying it was time for bed, and I ignored him. Fuck him, I didn’t want to listen to him. I found myself being disagreeable just to show him. Show him what, you ask? I have no idea…but it made sense to my drunk self.

I finally let him tuck me into bed after two in the morning. He tried getting frisky with me, and apparently mid-moan I started snoring. And I slept like the dead.

This morning when we got up, I apologized for my behavior. I wasn’t one hundred percent sure what was said or done after i got to his house, and I wanted to preempt another fight. Loverboy said I had no need to apologize, but he did.

He told me how shitty his day was, and how this month is going to suck for him financially. He felt angry he forgot we had plans. He said he took his shitty day out on me, and he never should have done that. He then said again that he would still take me out for my birthday.

As I sit writing this, he is working on his yard, talking to me like absolutely nothing happened. I’m going with it…I don’t feel the need to rehash it at all. Based in his behavior after he came and got me, I’m guessing his brother had a few words to say to him. His family thinks I’m the best thing that has happened to him, and they are never afraid to let him know.

I will, however, play my cards a little closer to my chest. I will let him contact me, and I will never assume our plans are set in stone until they are confirmed.

Reading back through this post, I feel like it doesn’t make a lot of sense. I feel like the whole night didn’t make a lot of sense. Can anyone explain to me what the fuck happened with his behavior? I feel like Cal Naughton Jr….’To tell you the truth I’m a little confused by your tactics. I’m gonna keep acting tough until I figure it out.’

Love, Esme

7 Responses to “Umm…hmm…part deux.”

  1. My Dating Hangovers May 6, 2012 at 2:20 am #

    Don’t get mad for this, but this situation sounds like dysfunctional co-dependency!!!!! I do not like the erratic behavior and mood swings that Loverboy just displayed. So you have a bad day, welcome to the club but to just bug the hell out and suddenly have selective amnesia THEN act an ass like you’ve got plans and THEN be very concerned because I tell you I’m planning on getting hammered? How about just saying “sorry, not up to it”, “I forgot, can we reschedule” or “I’ve had a crappy day” instead of head games?

    After all of that, he shows up and has to come to your rescue because you’ve had to much to drink??

    I don’t like these two days E and can only hope Loverboy realizes that by now, after all you two have been through together thus far he should know that A. He can talk to you and B. If he acts dumb you’re not the woman to call or text him a hundred times to find out the problem.

    Man, his actions were so uncalled for. Let’s hope this was a bad man-pms moment or something.

    • Esme May 6, 2012 at 9:06 am #

      Believe me C, I hear you and I considered the co-dependency angle. I’m not quick to release it, either. I am doubtful, I will say that, because of past behaviors. But after being married to one of those, I am on a look-out for the co-dependency.

      I saw his brother later that afternoon, and he asked me if L was acting better. I think he got a talking to about our fight. Does it excuse it? Absolutely not. In fact, I didn’t let him forget it. And I let him know his behavior bothered me. I feel like I did everything on my end that I could, and he was sincerely apologetic.

      So we shall see. All I can do is move forward cautiously and take it one day at a time.

      • My Dating Hangovers May 8, 2012 at 7:05 pm #

        The brother asked?? Okay, just weird all the way around. Press forward, fingers crossed for no additional super-dick moments!

  2. j May 6, 2012 at 9:39 pm #

    That fight was odd…not sure I can offer any advice.

    However, I do love that you quoted Talladega nights…I think it fits this situation perfectly.

    • Esme May 7, 2012 at 7:32 am #

      Since I saw L again night, and its been a few days removed from the fight, I asked him if we needed to discuss anything. He replied ‘Oh, you mean the night I was a total fucking jerk to you? Don’t need to rehash it unless you are not ok. I was a dick.’

      Well said, L. Well said.

      • j May 8, 2012 at 10:46 am #

        I think that is the best response that he could ever give.

  3. thoughtsappear May 8, 2012 at 6:46 am #

    I’m glad to hear everything is ok now!

Speak your peace

