Didn’t Appreciate This AT ALL

9 Apr

Loverboy and I were playing Call of Duty and smack-talking.  I honestly love days like that…relaxing, no stress, just me and my man.

Until this happened.

He made some remark about my sexual exploits before I met him.  He said it joking, so I responded joking.  Whatever!  I’m not the one that had a threesome!

L: How many partners did you have after your divorce?
E: *still focused on killing the 12 year-old douchebag that just called me a cunt on COD* I don’t know, L.  I don’t really keep track.  8?  9?
L: 8  or 9 in three years?!?!
E: Yeah, so?  Its like three a year.  (as I sat there registering what we were discussing, I’m so glad my brain was smart enough not to spit out a higher number.  Especially after his reaction.  But since my divorce?  Really no clue)
L: That’s a lot!
E: What?  No it’s not!  I’m sure it rivals your number.  And who the fuck cares?  It is before I met you.  This is a pointless fucking conversation.
L: No, it doesn’t.  And no it’s not.  I’m bothered by this.
E: *throwing PS3 remote on his chest* And I don’t appreciate being called a slut.  You just made me feel horrible for something BEFORE I MET YOU!!!  Christ, Loverboy, I am not stupid or naive enough to think you had no sex between your divorce and me.  That’s also three fucking years for you!  Get a life and get over it!!

I didn’t leave his house, because I knew we needed to rehash this once I calmed down.  I went to his room and watched TV, got my heart rate back to normal, and was thinking about finding him to talk.  He found me instead.

L: Esme, I am so sorry.  You’re right, it’s before you met me, and I was completely in the wrong.  I never considered myself a jealous person.  With anyone else I may have dated, I could give a rats ass what they did or didn’t do.  But for some reason, when you say something about  a past relationship, I just get so jealous.
E: There is no reason to be jealous.  None.  And thank you for being honest, but you have to get the fuck over it.  You made me feel like shit, L.  And I did nothing wrong.  I know Ex-wife cheated on you multiple times, but I’m not her.  Just like you aren’t Ex-husband.  But the jealousy?  I’m not having it.  I have a lot of guy friends that I maintain very close relationships to.  Are you going to freak out about that?  Answer carefully, because people I’ve been friends with for ten-plus years will not go away.
L: No, no problem.
E: If it will make you feel better, I will introduce you to them soon.  But jealousy has no place in this relationship.

He said he understood.  He apologized throughout the night, did what he could to make up for it.

I gave up so many friends for my ex, I won’t do it again.  And hopefully it won’t be an issue again.  But it is noted.

Love, Esme

8 Responses to “Didn’t Appreciate This AT ALL”

  1. cathk74 April 9, 2012 at 5:50 pm #

    We had a similar conversation. Not. Cool. At. All.

    • Esme April 9, 2012 at 5:57 pm #

      Definitely not! I told him I wasn’t sleeping with anyone when I met him, so he should have no issue with anything at all. Ugh…convos like that infuriate me.

  2. My Dating Hangovers April 9, 2012 at 7:12 pm #

    Relationship 101: Don’t ask questions you really don’t want to know the answer to. For some reason, Loverboy strikes me as the “I’ve had two or three serious relationships ever” type of guy.

    Imagine his expression if he knew that number you did share was multiplied by two or three! Haha!

    I like hearing about these hiccups and recoveries, especially the upstairs “timeout” then make ups.

    Keep it up girl, this one is a winner!

    • Esme April 9, 2012 at 9:21 pm #

      The two or three serious relationships thing is spot on. In fact, I would say he has had one serious one…his ex.

      I’m trying hard to not storm out when I’m mad, or say things I will regret when I am angry. It’s hard work!!

      • My Dating Hangovers April 9, 2012 at 11:54 pm #

        I knew it…and of course, the woman who cheated pretty $ich screws up things for the next woman because no matter how much you show the contrary, a little suspicion or jealousy will be there.

        Let’s hope this doesn’t come up again.

        Oh, I loved that you guys were playing call of duty together – so corny, but do cute.

        • Esme April 10, 2012 at 2:00 am #

          He taught me while I was stayin with him.

        • Esme April 10, 2012 at 2:01 am #

          Damn, hit reply too fast!!
          I totally suck, and I’m lucky if I shoot three people, but we have fun playing 🙂

    • Esme April 11, 2012 at 8:27 am #

      As I re-read this…it’s sad I didn’t automatically feel like I could share my real number!! Not that I actually KNOW it anymore, and I’m not sure I really care to (CUZ IT DOESN’T FUCKING MATTER!!), but it’s sad that if I were a dude, the number would be irrelevant.(Holy shit a lot of commas) I don’t think the convo would have gone differently, however.

Speak your peace

