A New Record?

29 Nov

Well ladies…tomorrow will be the sixth night I will spend with Loverboy.  1-2-3-4-5-6.  SIX.  I have never made it to six.  And I definitely have never waited six nights to sleep with someone.  I guess I am really digging this guy, huh?

He texted me today to remind me that we have a date tomorrow night.  As if I could forget.  We are going to see Harold and Kumar, and go to dinner.  And I have NOTHING to wear.  Figures.

But I do have a question for you girls.

Today I had to get an Order of Protection against my ex-husband.  He actually verbally assaulted me as we were leaving the courtroom this last week, and I feel like I was five seconds away from physical danger.  I found a bailiff, and got help.  And that lead me to today, and my new order.  So the question?  Bear with me…

Loverboy knows very little about my ex.  He knows he was not a nice person, but that is it.  And I don’t know how, or if, I should bring it up.  I still attend a domestic violence support group, and I put the question to them.  I got five different responses.  I feel like if I keep quiet, then something happens and he finds out that way, it’s like lying by omission.  But I am also afraid that if I say something, he will run away screaming, which I couldn’t blame.

Thoughts??

Love, Esme

6 Responses to “A New Record?”

  1. j November 29, 2011 at 4:37 pm #

    Tough one. I would say that you let him know about the current situation and that you got the order of protection. You can explain that you just wanted him to know what was going on and that down the road you will fill him in on more details. If he asks for more details now then it is your call. Based on what you have told us about him I don’t think he would run away but I do think he would be disappointed if you didn’t tell him about the situation.

    • Esme November 29, 2011 at 9:17 pm #

      I think you are right, J. Its best to be upfront about it. And if Loverboy can’t respect when I tell him that I just need more time before I talk about it, he isn’t the one for me.

  2. My Dating Hangovers November 29, 2011 at 7:22 pm #

    The good news with the bad? Damn, girl! I’m elated that you’re going on date # 6 of 1,000,000,00 but my opinion, I think you should be up front with Loverboy and tell him.

    Not necessarily the gritty details, but yes- letting him know how dangerous this man can be is the right thing to do.

    I have been in several situations where the man I was involved with had some wacked out ex and the only way I found out was being chased down the 91 freeway by a speeding car or tires slashed in the morning.

    Tell him.

    • Esme November 29, 2011 at 9:15 pm #

      Since we are going out tomorrow, I will mention something. Especially because if something happens while we are out (wow, that was redundant), I don’t want him to be thrown for a loop. I wouldn’t blame him if he ran away. My ex has a habit of running guys off. I mean, seriously. He has his own girlfriend…he should stay out of my life and relationships.

  3. Echo November 29, 2011 at 9:31 pm #

    Be as honest as you can while only sharing what youre comfortable with. If hes really so great, he will be understanding and supportive. If hes not, fuck him. Figeratively of course. Good luck and stay safe.

    • Esme November 29, 2011 at 9:49 pm #

      Thanks, Echo. I hope he does stick around, because I definitely would love to fuck him. Literally, of course 🙂

Speak your peace

