No More Convos with Molly…

23 Nov

This happened two days ago:

M: Hey Esme, it’s Molly!  How are things with Loverboy?  (Molly has had more boyfriends in one year then I have had dates in my life.  Normally she is ON when it comes to advice.)
E: Hi Molly!  I think they are going pretty well, considering we won’t see each other until next Sunday.
M: Did he text you today?
E: No.  He had a surprise party for his mom today.  I don’t expect to hear from him.
M: Oooohhh…really? Inhales sharply.
E: What?  What does that mean?!?  MOLLY!!!
M: Well, I think that if he really wanted to, he would text.
E: We aren’t big texters.  I see nothing wrong with this.
M: I’m just saying if he wanted, he would say hi.

Well, fuck me.  I am so not used to this whole good date thing, that I thought maybe she was right.  Maybe he would text if he really wanted.  Maybe he doesn’t see how awesome I am, and he is giving up already because of the 9-day separation.

By midnight, I was laying in bed staring at the ceiling.  I was motherfucking the shit out of Loverboy.

8 in the morning, I got a text:
Hi babe!  The party last night was amazing, my mom was so surprised!  I can’t wait to see you next week, can’t wait to kiss you again!

Aaaawwwwwww….

Love, Esme

7 Responses to “No More Convos with Molly…”

  1. j November 23, 2011 at 4:08 pm #

    Ha! I am so glad that I can laugh at this and that he came through. He sounds like a good one.

  2. My Dating Hangovers November 23, 2011 at 10:28 pm #

    Well…. Yes and no.

    Being the total optimist because I like the sound of Loverboy, Ms. Molly has a point – NO one is TOO busy to send a quick text. A quick walk to the car, before heading in the store or when sitting on the porclein God.

    Just for shits and giggles, I timed myself – 83 seconds.

    Still, it’s new so enjoy the ride!

    • Esme November 23, 2011 at 11:42 pm #

      ‘Shits and giggles’ indeed 🙂

      I’ve heard from him every day since, usually quick texts just telling me he is thinking of me. So far, I consider it a win! And I am totally digging the fact that he isn’t an obsessive 20 times a day texter. I just couldn’t handle that…

  3. Nikki B November 25, 2011 at 1:04 pm #

    See and I am totally *eye-rolling* Molly. If someone says they’re going to call/text/show up – they should. But. If they’re busy and you know they won’t, then don’t expect it of them. Don’t put expectations on someone that they didn’t say they’d live up to in the first place.

    Plus – I’m with you Esme. I don’t actually need constant texting. I’d prefer you just stick around because you want to, and I don’t, actually, need to hear from you all the time. Let me do me, and you do you, until we can hang out – then we do each other. Ha.

    • Esme November 25, 2011 at 4:16 pm #

      I definitely don’t need that constant texting…it’s irritating! And when he does text, it makes me smile. I want to keep that feeling for a little bit 🙂

  4. Lisa November 25, 2011 at 8:26 pm #

    I have sit here for the last 2 days reading your entire blog. I love it. You speak the truth about these guys. I have problems trusting men and since dating guys off POF, I trust them even less. Really hope this works out for you and Loverboy. Can’t wait to hear what happens next. You go girl!!!

    • Esme November 26, 2011 at 9:02 am #

      Thanks for reading, Lisa!
      I’m going things work out with Loverboy as well. W will see how it goes, though. I definitely don’t hold my breath…

Speak your peace

