Another Success :)

18 Nov

So I saw Loverboy again last night.  He had asked me what my schedule looked like for the next week, and I told him I have my kids for the extended Thanksgiving break.  (They are off for the whole week!!  When did that start happening??)  So he invited me over to watch a movie.

I really hesitated.  Not that I didn’t want to see him, because I really did.  And I know myself…movie equals drinks, drinks equals a predatory Esme.  And since I am digging this guy, I didn’t want to jump into bed too soon.  Heeelllloooo…that’s what I have Medic for if the mood strikes.

Loverboy sensed my hesitation, and he promised he would be a gentleman.  I’m not quite sure I believed it, but it made me feel better to hear.

Since we weren’t going out, I dressed in a pair of yoga pants and a form-fitting top.  Had to add an element of sexiness.  I grabbed my copy of Bridesmaids (that’s right…starting off with the chick flicks) since we were talking about it the night before, and I was off for my two-minute drive.  During dinner the other night we discovered we were almost neighbors.

Loverboy lives in a very nice neighborhood, in a very nice house.  I was a little awestruck when I walked in.  I met Khloe the energetic dog who loved me and wouldn’t leave my side.  He handed me a beer, and we settled in to watch the movie.

I felt like a teenager.  He put his hand on my knee.  He held my hand.  We made out on the couch.  There was no inappropriate touching, no move to take my clothes off.  We talked about things we like to do, things we want to do.  We talked about our kids, our childhood, our hopes and dreams.  There was a lot of laughing, more kissing.

At the end of the night, he asked me to stay over.  Then he took it back, saying if I stayed over he would not behave himself.  I’m glad he took it back, because I would have said yes…and I’m not sure I wanted to say yes yet.

I was getting ready to leave, and he told me to please keep in touch with him the next nine days. I told him course. He joked that he wants to know how I bowl with a bum shoulder so he can work on besting me. I retorted that he has to work hard to best a score of zero.

He walked me to my car, and man was it cold outside. He wrapped in his arms, and whispered ‘I am so afraid you are going to find me boring’. I asked why. He says he feels like I have such an exciting life, that I will grow bored with sitting by the fire watching movies. Bored with going to dinner and a movie. That I will get bored with him.

I was a little taken back by this statement. I told him that I’ve had two kinds of excitement, the kind that comes with my job, and the kind I had married to my ex. When I leave work, I want to come home to calm. And that I crave calm in my personal life because I’ve never had it. I explained that a night like we had tonight was the kind of night I want to come home to for the rest of my life. Sure I want to go out every once in a while, but tonight was a little slice of heaven.

I’m not quite sure Loverboy believed me. He believes I live this completely glamorous lifestyle. But he gave me a kiss, and I reiterated that I had a great night.

I couldn’t sleep last night, thinking about Loverboy and the evening we shared. It was such a relaxing, calm, low-key evening, and I loved it. I loved that I felt no pressure or stress. I loved that I was able to forget about shit in my life and enjoy his company. I loved the absolute simpleness of it. Does that make any sense?

I shot him a text this morning telling him he passed his insomnia to me (he told me he didn’t sleep after our date. I said it was so nice of him to think of me all night. He said it was the reason why he didn’t sleep. Awww.) He responded with ‘great sex would have fixed that one. Lol.’

I have to admit it made me laugh. If he has sex the way he kisses, I’m in for a real treat.

I’m trying to not get too excited about the prospect of Loverboy. I think the next nine days will be very telling.

Much love,
Esme

5 Responses to “Another Success :)”

  1. j November 18, 2011 at 1:32 pm #

    Oooo how exciting! I like the sounds of this one.

  2. thoughtsappear November 18, 2011 at 2:22 pm #

    I hope you hear from him bunches over the next week!

  3. My Dating Hangovers November 19, 2011 at 1:35 pm #

    Sounds like you’re on cloud nine and I’m so happy for you, you deserve it. I like that Loverboy is able to be so refreshing and I love that he’s able to show you some of the things a man should say and do when courting a woman.

    I also like that he wasn’t afraid to tell you what he was concerned about; you are a different kind of woman, very active and a thrill-seeker. He showed you a moment of weakness because he doesn’t strike me as the guy who’ll go rocking cars wih you. 🙂

    Still, you let him know that kind of downtime is what you need. As long as he takes your word for it and doesn’t tun his concern into insecurity, you’re good.

    Don’t let Thanksgiving break with the kids throw off your momentum. Enjoy this!

    • Esme November 19, 2011 at 11:23 pm #

      I’m trying!

      He is not a big electronic communicator, and I know this. But tonight he sent a text that said he thought about me today. That made me smile 🙂

      • My Dating Hangovers November 20, 2011 at 12:04 am #

        Be happy he isn’t big on electronics! Nowadays, getting text messages from men is a little annoying to me.

Speak your peace

