Business Opportunity?

20 Oct

Opportunity knocking?  Not sure…may send me into a panic attack first…

A good friend of mine is a publisher.  She is the one that convinced me to start the blog.  She has repeatedly told me that I should consider writing as more than a hobby.  I have repeatedly laughed it off.  I do this to release stress.  I do this to process the ducheros in my life.  If I had to do it to make money?  I’m not sure I could.  And my confidence in my writing is just not that great.

The reason I started this blog was simple.  Being a victim of DV, and trying to get back onto my feet, was a lot to deal with.  I wanted to date, I wanted to experience it, but I needed a way to let it go.  Does that make sense?  Basically, this was cheaper than therapy.

Not long after I went on that first date, My girlfriend and I came up with “365 Days of Not Saying No”.  I was not allowed to turn down ANY date that I was asked on.  The thought was to get me away from a ‘type’.  To let me see what was out there.  To not be judgmental.  There were rules, however:

1.  I had to make myself available.  Join dating websites.  Be approachable.

2.  I had to be safe about it, obviously.  Let someone know who I was with, and where.

3.  I had to committ to one drink.  No timeline…just one drink.

4.  I had to say yes to every single guy that asked me out for the course of one year-minus if I decided to be in a relationship with someone.

Sounds simple, right?  And maybe fun?  Well…you’ve read the stories.  Not so much.

So back to this good friend.

Yesterday she called me, and said she would be interested in independently publishing me if I wrote about my “365 Days of Not Saying No”.  I told her I don’t have enough to fill a book, and she laughed.  She told me to write some of the dates in essay form, then send them to her for editing, and to see how it goes.

I’m kind of torn, here.  Would anyone want to read this in book form?  I don’t know.  A blog is one thing.  A book is another.

So I ask all of you…try?  Don’t try?  And if I did…which of my dates would you want to read about?

Love, Esme

5 Responses to “Business Opportunity?”

  1. MyDatingHangovers October 20, 2011 at 1:51 pm #

    My first reaction is to pinch you for even asking IF you should but then I realize why you’re having doubts.

    A book, the preparation, the writing, the editing. A lot of work, no doubt. Can you do it and put something out that people will want to read? Hell yes!

    Just focus on who your audience will be and write it to them.

    Good luck!

  2. j October 20, 2011 at 4:14 pm #

    I would read that!

  3. constanceb October 21, 2011 at 6:47 am #

    Try! What’s the worse that could happen?

  4. thoughtsappear October 21, 2011 at 7:02 am #

    Doooooo it! Sounds like a great idea!

  5. Simm October 26, 2011 at 10:37 am #

    DO it!!! It sounds like a blast!!!

Speak your peace

