For Shits and Grins

8 Sep

I am so damned bored.  Very bored.  Super incredibly bored.  My surgery isn’t scheduled for another two weeks, and most of my hobbies call for two working arms.  I rent a lot of videos.  I DVR a lot of TV.  I read a lot of books.  But I am so bored.

So what do I do?  I fire up the old internet dating profile.  It’s free entertainment, and gives me something to write about.

Lo and behold, I get a message from someone I am remotely acquainted with.

Four years ago I was a medic in the City.  One of the stations I was assigned to was shared with the police department.  We shared a workout room with them, it was located on our apparatus floor.  Every few days I would see this cop running on the treadmill.  Whether it was 20 degrees outside, or 100, he faithfully ran 10 miles.  Six feet, bald, tattooed arms, and built like a brick shithouse.  All muscled and strong-looking.  He would be running when we left for calls, and still be running when we returned.  I used to tease him that if he passed out, I couldn’t lift him off the floor.  I never felt unsafe when he showed up on scene.  He was a protector of the unarmed, and kept everything calm and safe.

So I received a message, just saying hello hope to hear back from you kind of thing.  I didn’t recognize him, but I loved his smile so I answered.  He finally asked me if I remembered him.  Once he explained who he was, the lightbulb lit up above my head.  Hell yes I remembered who he was.

We have been talking for a couple of weeks, but have not been able to meet up yet.  (He has to work extra due to the 9/11 ten-year-versary.  I think every city is on high alert.)

I am really hoping to meet before I must have surgery.  I am very interested to see where this could go.  Neither of us is interested in getting remarried.  Neither of us is expecting anything.  I enjoy hearing from him, I enjoy talking to him, and I was comfortable with him when I was on a scene with him.  But we won’t know anything until we can finally meet.  Again.

I am cautiously optimistic we will meet up.  I think once we do, it’s anyone’s guess.

Love, Esme

4 Responses to “For Shits and Grins”

  1. Carmen September 8, 2011 at 5:19 pm #

    I’m being cautiously optimistic as well. See, you guys have already taken care of the difficult stuff by agreeing on what you both want and don’t want.

    Now all that’s left is you meeting up, shoulder not needing to be snapped back into place (not really a sexy date moment), and getting some much needed laughter and good feelings.

    You’re funny… “fired up the old dating profile”.

    • Esme September 8, 2011 at 11:02 pm #

      Can you imagine?? Hey!! Please pop my shoulder back in!! Aaahhhh!!

      He wrote me tonight and asked me when I was free, but still no plans. Now I may be just getting frustrated.

  2. thoughtsappear September 8, 2011 at 6:28 pm #

    I can’t wait to hear about when you meet up!

    • Esme September 8, 2011 at 11:02 pm #

      I hope there is a meet-up!!

Speak your peace

