A Complete Surprise

21 Jul

Mr. Hottie and I were texting/talking some last night, and well into the morning hours.  It’s truly the only time we both have a few spare minutes and can just unwind, be honest, and not speak in ‘code’.  We talked about our maybe situation.  About my kids.  About his job.  About sex.  About a little bit of everything.  He told me he wanted to come see me tomorrow night.  To talk, to listen, to sit and just be with me.  I said OK, and a date was made.

The next morning my boys and I were snuggled in bed, watching Spongebob Squarepants.  Sidenote: I love those kind of mornings!  Back to the story.  Around 9, I received a text message from Mr. Hottie.

M: Hey babe.  Sleep well?
E: No, I don’t sleep.  Kids and I are snuggling in bed watching TV
M: I want to lay in bed with you.  Can I come visit?
E: So come over.  I was just going to get up and shower anyways.
M: No, please don’t.  Just stay relaxed and dressed the way you are.
E: OK…going to go feed the boys.  See you whenever.

We got up, did our morning chores, and headed downstairs for waffles and cereal.  While we were eating I told them that Mr. Hottie was coming over to visit (they have met him before in passing…never sat and had a conversation).  I told them some stories about him that they would enjoy, like when a deer committed suicide by running headlong into his car.  Do I know how to talk to 8 and 10-year-old boys or WHAT? 😉

I had a lot of thoughts running through my head while I sat and waited.

  • My kids have met a lot of my male friends.  But every single one of them were just friends.  This feels different.
  • Mr. Hottie is not what you consider a ‘kid person’.  I know I have given you all a couple of reasons why we stopped ‘exclusive’ dating all that time ago, but another one was my kids.  The thought of meeting my boys sent him into a dizzying panic complete with cold sweats and a swelling tongue.  It also bothered him that I had kids with someone else.  I know he told me it didn’t bother him anymore, but I was skeptical.
  • I wondered how my kids would react.  They tell me all of the time that I need to date (If they only knew!), that I should get a boyfriend, that I should go out and have fun (apparently they are pretty smart for their age!)  But how would they actually feel once they met someone?  Would their thoughts change?
  • What was I doing allowing this?  Was this the start of a commitment?

I was so lost in thought that when my phone chirped with his message saying he had arrived, I jumped.  I went to the door and he was leaning against the post outside…he is so damn sexy when he does that.  He was dressed to lounge in sweats and a t-shirt that skimmed his muscles.  I was wearing yoga pants and a tank top and I had yet to brush the mess of curls on my head.  He definitely looked way sexier than me.  Sigh.

He followed me into the living room.  I directed him to a chair, and went back to cleaning up after breakfast.  My oldest walked right over to him, introduced himself, and plopped down next to him with his new Star Wars Lego book that has become his bible.

M!  Look at my new book!  Do you like Star Wars?  I asked for this from my mom for my birthday.  I could build it.  I may have to look at the directions, but I could do it.  Do you want to look at it with me?  I like this one, too.  Do you like Legos?  All boys like Legos.  I like them a lot.  I’m really good at building!

During this tirade, Mr. Hottie was smiling at my oldest and answering his questions when he could get a word in edgewise.  I was too stunned to speak, or intervene.  My youngest wandered over, wanting in on the action.  He finally got to ask the one question that had been on his 8-year-old brain.

Is it true that a deer committed suicide by running into your car?

I snorted, trying unsuccessfully to hide my laughter.  Mr. Hottie theatrically told the whole sordid story, and my boys held on to every word.  Later that day they had an absolute blast recreating that story.

Once story time was over, we headed upstairs to watch TV.  Mr. Hottie (I gotta start calling him something else…henceforth known as M) and I lounged on the bed, and the boys ran back and forth between their room and mine.  They didn’t care, or seem to notice, that his head was resting on my lap.  Eventually they stayed in their room, and our talk turned a little more serious.

E: You know M…you really threw me for a major loop when you admitted your feelings for me.
M: I’m sure I did.
E: Was it bullshit?
M: What? No.  I wouldn’t have said it if I didn’t mean it.
E: Is this something you actually want to do?  Are we actually considering it?
M: Yes.  And yes
E: Honestly, it isn’t anything different then what we are doing now.  I never could stay away from you.  Guess there are feelings for you somewhere in there.

M leaned over and gave me a kiss on the forehead.  And that simple act spoke absolute volumes to me.

I think I am really considering giving this a whirl…

Love, Esme

3 Responses to “A Complete Surprise”

  1. Echo July 22, 2011 at 12:47 pm #

    Wandered over from bad girl bloggers and love your post. I’m already addicted! lol. Did I miss the follow button though? I didn’t see one.

    • Esme July 22, 2011 at 8:26 pm #

      It should have been at the end when you commented? I will have to check. Thank you for stopping by and reading!

  2. Nikki B July 25, 2011 at 9:11 am #

    See what happens! I do think there should be some discussion about what it all means, where the boundaries are, and what you both need to make this work – but, yeah, it’s just letting it happen, too.

    😀

Speak your peace

