Something To Think About

13 Jul

I saw this picture, I don’t remember where, and it really resonated with me.  Kudos to this woman for spreading, as I see it, the truth.  I hope that this invites discussion.

The truth as I see it

 

Love, Esme

9 Responses to “Something To Think About”

  1. Simm July 13, 2011 at 12:15 pm #

    Good insight. Didn’t really think of it from that point of view since we are drilled with “Don’t go in that dark alley”, or “Don’t dress like that, you’re just asking for it”.

    • Esme July 13, 2011 at 1:29 pm #

      Which is the longer version of “Don’t get raped”. Fucked up, isn’t it?

  2. Nikki B July 18, 2011 at 9:26 am #

    YES! I had a *very* interesting discussion about this on Friday night (it was too late and over too many bottles of champagne but…). I’d like to post on it, but this woman just summed it up so well!

    • Esme July 18, 2011 at 10:35 pm #

      This image has almost haunted me. I feel like in so many instances rape is viewed as ‘Boys will be boys. She must have asked for it somehow’. It really makes me want to stand on my local street corner with the same sign, just to see the reactions I get.

  3. hlbb July 18, 2011 at 9:33 am #

    Love it. Such a strong image.
    Love that she’s surrounded by men in the photo as well. Makes it really stick.

    • Esme July 18, 2011 at 10:36 pm #

      Thanks for stopping by! I think this picture speaks volumes…

      • Esme July 18, 2011 at 10:37 pm #

        Is there a way to get onto your blog?

  4. MyDatingHangovers July 20, 2011 at 7:52 pm #

    This is a good conversation piece, I’ll have to use it at one of my speaking functions. Sad but true.

    It seems that the focus on the act itself has always been redirected to what the woman should have or could have done to try preventing it.

    That asshole politician, Pete DeGraaf comes to mind because I almost jumped out of my skin when I heard him compare being raped 9and getting pregnant) to “getting a flat tire”.

    • Esme July 20, 2011 at 10:26 pm #

      WHAT??? Seriously? A FLAT TIRE?!?! Now I almost wish there was something as humiliating and degrading that could happen to HIM!!

Speak your peace

