Maybe Something New?

31 May

A few days ago I received the following text message:

Esme, do you want to come out tonight with me and a friend?  It’s trivia night, and it will be a lot of fun!

Hmmm…a little background on this individual we will call Medic…Medic and I have known each other for a few years.  Four or five, I’d say.  He is younger than me.  Significantly younger.  About 7 years.  Medic doesn’t act younger than me.  All those years ago I would have placed him maybe two years younger.  But if I have learned anything in the last two years, it’s not to judge prematurely.  Sooooo when I received the text message, I responded.  And I love trivia…I’m just full of useless information…I couldn’t resist!

So I went to trivia night.  We won (bitches) and stayed to talk a while afterwards.  I told him he looks good.  Happy, Medic, you look happy.  He asked me if I wanted to join him for drinks tomorrow.  I smiled and said absolutely.

I met Medic out the next day at 4pm.  We drank.  Quite a lot.  We played darts and drank some more.  We went to go see a movie.  And you know what?  Absolutely nothing happened.  There was no brushing against my leg.  No reaching for my hand.  No trying to sneak a kiss.  He did lean…and anyone who has seen While You Were Sleeping knows what I am talking about..but nothing came of the lean.  When he dropped me back off at my car, he gave me a hug, and told me to call him the next day.  That was it.

How do I take this?  I’m a little weirded out by the fact that he didn’t try to make a move on me.  I can’t even tell if he is into me.  I guess time will tell.

Any thoughts??

Love, Esme

5 Responses to “Maybe Something New?”

  1. Sam June 1, 2011 at 2:34 am #

    He likes you as a friend… is that possible?

    • Esme June 1, 2011 at 6:18 am #

      More then possible, I’d say probable. Guess I kinda wanted more 🙂

  2. thoughtsappear June 1, 2011 at 6:21 pm #

    I’m going with friend as well. Or a very slow or shy mover.

    • Esme June 1, 2011 at 6:36 pm #

      I’m thinking friend as well. It was just odd that it was kind of out of the blue! But he is a great guy to know regardless 🙂

  3. j June 1, 2011 at 8:28 pm #

    I think I would go with friend for now but you never know what it might progress to.

Speak your peace

