Technology Today Is Not Always A Good Thing

20 Apr

I have been asked out by three different guys on the book of faces.  On three separate occasions.  When did this become a legitimate way to try to start a relationship?  I get that there is internet dating.  And I get that some people view this as another dating avenue.  HOWEVER…I carefully screen my Facebook, so my number is visible to my friends on my information page.  Number.  Right there.  All of them.  Don’t have to guess on even one.  I am just cool like that.

1.  This guy I went to the academy with.  When he found out I was single, I received a simple two sentence message.  Esme, single?  Want to go out?  I wrote back writing my digits in the message.  Now they were in two places.  Now I am even cooler.  I told him if he would like to ask me out he can do it with the spoken word, not written.  He did call me, and we did go out a few times.  Then one night I got a message, via Facebook, that said he was unhappy that people ‘found out about us’, so he was calling it off.  Asked out, and broken up with, by Facebook.  Sigh.

2.  This second guy I went to paramedic school with.  He found out I was single, and sent me a message about how we could have some fun together.  I sent a message to him that was almost identical to the one above.  He also called me, and we had a great conversation.  We made plans, and I thought all was good.  I wrote him a message on his wall of faces that said I was looking forward to our date.  Almost immediately I got a phone call.  Esme, are you fucking crazy??  My girlfriend can see that!!  Am I fucking crazy???  You are the incredible ASSHAT that asked me out when you have a goddamned girlfriend!!  Go fuck yourself!

3.  This one happened just last week.  One sentence in the message: Would you like to go out on a date?  My response: No.  I wasn’t interested, and I just don’t care to explain why this behavior bothers me so much anymore.

To all my male readers…please stop asking people out via Facebook.  I have even been asked out, and broken up with, via text message.  Also just not cool.  Just…no.

Love, Esme

8 Responses to “Technology Today Is Not Always A Good Thing”

  1. MyDatingHangovers April 20, 2011 at 7:54 pm #

    Dumb, Dumbest and lame. Honey let me tell you, every time I come back to your blog after one of my busy spells, You come with something that hits a nerve. The internet and especially Facebook, have seriously fucked off the old-school style of dating. Do these men not get that a simple phone call followed by “I’d like to take you out” vs the shitty “let’s hang out” is all we ask?

    One day I’ll have to post the series on how my relationship ended with Jekyll, and Facebook certainly was the nail in the coffin.

    I was just complaining last week and weeks prior about the need for some to be connected somehow through the web.

    Hell, in fact I exchanged numbers with a new soon-to-be hangover last night from Plenty of Fail and while my profile specifically says I despise a lot of texting from someone new, what does he do this morning? Start texting. Next, he asks for my last name so he can friend me on Facebook. What the hell for?? I lied, told him I didn’t do Facebook.

    These idiot men!!!!!!!!

    • Esme April 21, 2011 at 9:36 am #

      I mids the old style of dating…the ‘courting’. If some guy showed up at my door with flowers, I’d ‘swoon’.

  2. j April 20, 2011 at 9:47 pm #

    I agree completely with you on this. However, I do fear that if I insisted that a guy call and ask me out that I would never go on a date again. I don’t think they get it…

    • Esme April 21, 2011 at 9:40 am #

      If they don’t call after you ask, then they aren’t worth it!

  3. thoughtsappear April 21, 2011 at 6:25 am #

    I agree! Asking out (and especially breaking up) on Facebook are unacceptable.

    Whenever someone used to ask me out via Facebook (or Myspace forever ago), I automatically thought shadiness was involved.

    • Esme April 21, 2011 at 9:37 am #

      Most definitely shady. I get some guys are shy, but get over it!

  4. Simmarah April 21, 2011 at 8:41 am #

    Ughh, being asked out on facebook is equivalent to highschool behaviour! And what the heck is with this guy who already has a girlfriend? Terrible! What is the world coming to, seriously?

    • Esme April 21, 2011 at 9:39 am #

      Simm, I have no idea when this became acceptable. But since we let it continue as a female race, I am sure it will never get better.

Speak your peace

