Just…blah

7 Apr

The other day was my brother’s birthday. I didn’t call him, I didn’t message him. I don’t even talk to him.

My brother and I used to be extremely close. We were there for each other during our parents divorce. We leaned on each other. Then when he became a teenager, he turned to drugs instead.

My brother has OD’ed a number of times. There were months on end none of us know whether he was dead or alive. Then there were months he was clean, and he was great.

A few years ago he beat his girlfriend. He went to jail overnight, but no longer because she wouldn’t press charges. She took him back, and because abusers don’t change, he beat heer again. This time he did some jail time.

He got out of jail, and right away had a new girlfriend. Guess what happened? Yep…happened twice. More jail time, out again, and now has a new girlfriend.

I can’t bring myself to talk to him. Its never his fault, always everyone elses. He never learns. And it physically pains me to have an abusive brother. So I didn’t call, didn’t text, didn’t email. And I am quite alright with that.

Love, Esme

One Response to “Just…blah”

  1. j April 7, 2011 at 7:43 pm #

    Sometimes you just need to let people go…

Speak your peace

