A Great Date…I Think…

12 Feb

So for the record, I did rock the ponytail  😉

As I was crossing the bridge to the next city to meet my date, my phone rings.  Hey Esme, I am going to be 5 minutes late.  I am so very sorry.  It’s OK, I replied.  I will see you when you get there.

I arrive to the restaurant a little early (Ugh…I fucking HATE arriving early!  I thought it would be harder to find a parking spot.)  I walk in and decide to get a table after seeing the people come in behind me. (I have been told by a guy friend of mine that this is rude…that I should wait for my dates.  I never do.  Rude?  Yes or no?  I always figure if I am going to get stood up, then I will at least get a drink out of it.)

True to his word, my date arrives 5 minutes late.  (Let’s name him…Jake.)  Jake walks in wearing jeans and a button down shirt.  Yay, he looks nice!  He tried!  He is taller than me!  Looks-wise, he is not the kind of person I am normally go for.  But he is cute, and he smiles a lot, and he makes eye-contact.  And he didn’t make one inappropriate comment.

Throughout dinner, we talked about all of the things every ‘dating expert’ tells you not to.  Religion (raised the same as me), politics (liberal like me), sex, and stalkers (we each have one-but his is a WAY better story!).  I talked more than I ever have on a first date.  I felt pretty comfortable with him, which if y’all know me, is saying a hell of a lot.   Suddenly, there is a knock at the window…it’s my girl Jadyn!  Checking up on me?  Making sure this isn’t another wanna-be date rapist?  I smile and wave back, then explain to Jake that we girls are protective of each other (although I am sure she was just out meeting a friend ;))

Our dinner was done, and our drinks were almost finished.  It was apparent neither of us wanted the date to end.  We were both amazed that we were sitting across from normal people, and voiced as such.  I sighed, and said we should discuss a light-hearted topic, so we could end the date on a happy note.  Jake said ‘Let’s go bowling’.

And we did.  About a block away there is a place, and the best way I can describe it?  A Chuck E. Cheese for adults!  It’s like a Dave and Busters.  There are games like skeeball, and big bar in the center, and 8 lanes of cosmic bowling.  (Note to self…never wear those damn heels again if I may have to walk even a little bit.  My feet were fucking BURNING by the time we got there!) We bowled three games, and I lost every one.  I was not on my game, that’s for sure…I have never bowled so bad in my life!  But Jake was barely any better, so we were pretty evenly matched.  He would give me five if I had a good frame.  I made sure to touch his arm or back every once in a while.  (Wow, it has been a long time since I have had to do the whole ‘hey I have an interest in you so I better do little things to make sure you are aware of it throughout the night before I voice it at the end of the date’ thing.  It’s a little exhausting…) Our bowling time came to an end, and he walks me the block and a half back to my car.  Remember how I said my feet were burning?  I think I cried a little when I put those damn heels back on.  And when we stood at the street corner waiting to cross, I was shifting my balance repeatedly.  He gave me a funny look, so I admitted that we women suffer for great looking legs.  At least he laughed.  We get to my car and I give him a kiss on the cheek and a long hug.  Jake said he will call me (I fucking hate that…I feel like it’s the kiss of death.)  I told him I had a great time, and I would love to see him again.  He chuckled a little bit, and said again that he will call.  Then he was on his way.

So that is where I am at.  For the first time in a long time I didn’t want to walk away by the hour-and-a-half mark.  I shared information about myself.  I broke my rules…we will see if anything comes of it.  I actually hope this one calls…

Much love, Esme

2 Responses to “A Great Date…I Think…”

  1. Carmen February 12, 2011 at 3:28 pm #

    Yahoo! That does sound like a nice date and for goodness sake, just enjoy the moment. I know we are used to men changing into assholes in 60 seconds, but relish the moment. Hoping for good things with Jake, so keep us posted!

  2. Simmarah February 13, 2011 at 7:32 am #

    YAY! I really think that somehow normal guys are emerging! Almost like they were released from some island … SUPER happy to hear, I was smiling the whole way through reading your post 🙂

    AND, I will update you soon. But let’s just say that I’ve made up my mind.

Speak your peace

