Aaaaannnnnd Scene!

8 Jun

Dear Nice Guy,

Well, that didn’t last long.  It was a great month.  I let myself believe that you were different.  That you could handle yourself.  That what I had been through in my life wouldn’t affect you.  Was I wrong, or was I WRONG?

We were spending a lot of time together.  No more than a day would go by without some Nice Guy in my life.  And I have to admit that I loved it.  Loved feeling needed and wanted.  Then you started pushing away.

I finally got a phone call from you.  You had a lot on your plate, and I was a distraction.  You needed to get things done, and seeing me didn’t allow that.  Instead of seeing me once or twice a week, you decided that you couldn’t see me at all.

Excuse me??

Me: So let me put this hour-long phone call into perspective…you want to pause me, so to speak, to be able to come back to me when you feel you are ready to do so?

You: You put it that way and it sounds uncomfortable.

Me: But that’s what it is.  Soooo…this is where I say call me when you get your shit together.  But know that when you decide you are ready, I may not be.  Good luck with it all.

I haven’t heard a peep from you since.  I am actually pretty surprised, but then again you gave me every line I have ever heard from men.  ‘You’re awesome, you’re wonderful, everything I could ever want…BUT…’

So guess what…

I’m back…

Love, Esme

3 Responses to “Aaaaannnnnd Scene!”

  1. Cath June 8, 2010 at 3:23 pm #

    Sonofabitch! Sorry, hon. 😦

  2. Lara June 8, 2010 at 11:07 pm #

    Sometimes Nice Guys can be real jerks.

  3. Redshoes51 June 11, 2010 at 5:27 am #

    Well, blah… I’m sorry… I think having been married, and then divorced for a long time (me too), make us a bit more careful when we are dating… I don’t have any answers… :o(

    ~shoes~

Speak your peace

