Out Of The Mouths Of Babes

17 Sep

Dear Perfect,

I was at your place last week, spending time with you and your girls.  (I absolutely LOVE your kids, have I told you that?)  Your five-year-old came up to me as you were putting the two-year-old in bed.

Merideth: Esme, are spending the night?

Esme: (Truth is I was, but it is not my place to tell your daughter that.  Your kids have never caught me there, and I was planning on leaving before they got up) Umm, not tonight sweetie.  We will have a sleepover some other time.

Merideth: I think you should stay.

Esme: Ha.  Wait, what?

Merideth: You should stay.  You and daddy should just go to bed now.

Esme: We should what?

Merideth: (She sighed, looked at me like I was re-tar-ded, put her hand on her hip) You and daddy?  You guys should just go to bed.

Esme: (Yelling)  Uhh, Perfect?  Merideth needs to go to bed.

I told you what happened, and you laughed.  She actually said that to you, you asked?  She doesn’t open up to anyone!  They both love you.  I smiled, and went to sleep.

The next morning, I overslept.  And you didn’t bother to wake me up.  I looked so peaceful, you said.  There was no sense in waking you.

You kept the door closed while you got up with the girls.  They had no idea I was in there.  When I finally woke up, I stayed in the room until you came in.

Esme: Sooo…how are we going to do this?

Perfect: Hang on.

You left the room, and walked back in 2 minutes later.  You explained you told Merideth I had spent the night.  Her face lit up when she found out I was in the next room.

I tentatively step out of the bedroom, not quite sure what I am walking into.  I feel like this could be worse than getting caught by my mom.  I find Merideth in the living room, and brace myself for what is to come.  After all, this is the girl, that when we were dating, had glared at me when I touched your back.

Merideth: Good morning, Esme!  I told you to just spend the night!  Want some breakfast?

Madison, your two-year-old, was grinning from ear to ear.

Yep, they love me.

Love, Esme

Speak your peace

